訪Irma Boom吃閉門羹

irma_boom_office_01

irma_boom_office_02

irma_boom_office_03

其實我幾年前還在英國的時候,已經很想去阿姆斯特丹了,總覺得這是思想與設計也很自由奔放的一個城市,讓人感受到無限的思想開拓,去年9月有機會來此旅遊的時候,的確跟我想像中一樣,讓我思想來一趟解放吧!

心想難得有機會來一趟阿姆斯特丹,當然想去拜訪當地著名的書籍設計師Irma Boom啦!

所以在出發前,我就寄了電郵給她,說我是她的設計讀者,多麼欣賞她的設計,想去探她之類的說話⋯⋯在臨飛之前也完全沒有得到回應。但我想,我不應放棄的,難得來了,就找了一行程比較空閒的日子,親身「踩」上她的工作室吧。當然,我也預料很大機會會失敗,但不去白不去,就由市中心的酒店,兜兜轉轉的去到她位於市效的辦公室。

去到門前按鈴,有個看似她助手的小姐出來應門,我就跟她說:「我是來自香港的書籍設計師,剛剛在比利時布魯塞爾擺展,順道過來阿姆斯特丹遊玩,也想親自探訪一下Irma Boom。我很欣賞她所造的書籍設計。」那位助手小姐驚訝地回說:「你應該先預約的,她現在不在啊。」我說:「其實我在前幾星期已經有寄郵件給你們問可否見面,也沒有得到回覆。但不要緊,我準備了一些我所設計的書送給Irma Boom女士,也有我的聯絡方法在內。」我就把一袋5本的書交給那位小姐,便離開了。在外面拍了照,便失望而回。

回到香港後,也沒有得到她的一點回覆。

失敗並不要緊,最緊要做了該當的事情,不要讓自己後悔。I’ve got nothing to lose!

(另,到荷蘭也買了幾本她造的書,算是有點兒收獲啦~!)

3 Responses to “訪Irma Boom吃閉門羹”


  1. 1 Allen Yeung July 9, 2014 at 12:26 am

    Hey Hei Shing,

    This is Allen Yeung. Not sure if you remember me but we’ve met up in Brixton once, back when I was living in London.

    Anyway I’ve been quietly checking your blog out every now and then and I enjoy reading them a lot. I remember you posted her work “Weaving as Metaphor” on your blog before and was amazed by it. Not sure if you have already know this podcast “Design Matters by Debbie Millman”

    https://itunes.apple.com/au/podcast/design-matters-debbie-millman/id328074695?mt=2

    and I’ve recently heard a podcast of Debbie interviewing Irma Boom http://designobserver.com/feature/irma-boom/38358/

    Hope you enjoy it.

    P.S. Would love to catch up next time I’m in Hong Kong.

    Kind regards,
    Allen

    • 2 hei shing July 9, 2014 at 8:36 am

      Hey Allen

      我梗係記我你啦~!我阿爸有時都會提起你的,你還有同我阿哥有聯絡嗎?你近來點呀?我記得你喺澳洲做Design好掂既!

      哈哈!超Surprised你會睇我個Blog!喺度寫下Book Design皮毛吧~

      多謝你Irma Boom條link,我會聽。你返來香港既話就揾我出來飲杯嘢吹下水啦!

      可以send email俾我:pumpkin33hk@yahoo.com.hk

      Stay in touch!

      曦成

      • 3 Allen Yeung July 9, 2014 at 12:59 pm

        Hi Hei Shing, I’m glad you still remember me, I think you are doing a lot better then me in the field, I’m just the working designer not a award winning designer like you! Haven’t have a chance to catch up with your brother lately, last time we spoke was when he was about to start a new jewellery design job. How is is doing these days? Please send my regards to your family. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Contributor

Hei Shing
chanheishing@gmail.com

書就是… A Book is…


一片紙不但表現時間,也表現空間。而一片片的紙張組合起來的書就是一個高深的容器,盛滿文字,既能從中不斷汲取智慧,又能裝入無限的智慧。

A piece of paper reflects not only time but also space. Books are formed by binding papers together to become containers of words that serve as a reservoir as well as a spring of wisdom.

July 2014
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

  • 122,920

